Hays County Republican Party Committee Minutes July 24, 2023, 7:00 PM Hays County Republican Party Welcome Center

Welcome: Chairman Bob Parks called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

Invocation: The invocation was given by Brian McAuliffe.

Pledge of Allegiance to the United States flag and the Texas flag: The pledges were led by Carter Kupper.

Recognition of Special Guests: Sandi Ellen, AJ Bergeron, Chris Byrd, Olivia Brechot (Carrie Isaac's rep), Tennyson Moreno, Peggy Hipolito, Michelle Lopez

Secretary's Report and Approval of the Minutes: Temporary Secretary Debi Christensen presented the minutes of July 24, 2023, for consideration and approval. Mary Clarkson made a motion to accept the minutes and Andy Hentschke seconded it. Motion passed. There were **29 precinct chairs present, which constituted a quorum.**

Adoption of the Agenda: John Carter made a motion to adopt the agenda, and Andy Hentschke seconded it. Motion passed.

Treasurer's Report: Treasurer Mary Pat Paul delivered the report. Tracy Terrell motioned to pass; Nancye Britner seconded. Motion passed. The bank balance as of August 28, 2023 was \$133,038.56.

Chairman's Opening Comments:

Chairman Parks addressed the recent leadership training, the upcoming picnic, and commended the precinct chairs and thanked them for their work.

A motion was made to limit comments to 3 minutes up and 3 minutes down regarding the discussion of the two resolutions below. Terry Parker made the motion and Mary Pat Paul seconded it. The motion passed.

First Resolution in Support of Orange County Republican Executive Committee Censure of State Representative and Texas House Speaker Dade Phelan with possible discussion and Action:

- Julie Taylor presented the resolution.
- Speaking for the resolution: Ben Broughton 344, Cheryl Stevens 446, Carter Kupper 134
- Speaking against the resolution: Brian McAuliffe 314, Fred Bright 441, Mary Pat Paul 450
- Carter Kupper made a motion to vote on the resolution, and Stacy Anderson seconded it.
- The motion was opposed 15-14.

Second Resolution against Paxton Impeachment Trial with possible discussion and action:

- Julie Taylor presented the resolution.
- Speaking for the resolution: Brian McAuliffe 314, Tracy Terrell 445, Carter Kupper 134
- Speaking against the resolution: Nancye Britner 338, Mary Pat Paul 450
- Carter Kupper made a motion to vote on the resolution, and Stacy Anderson seconded it.
- The motion passed 16-13.

Nancye Britner made a motion that those who voted in favor of the Resolution against Paxton Impeachment Trial sign the resolution, and Mary Pat Paul seconded it.

Chairman's Comments:

Chairman Parks thanked everyone for their comments.

Adjourn: Andy Hentschke motioned to adjourn; Mike Guerra seconded it.