Hays County Republican Party Executive Committee Minutes March 27, 2023 7:00 PM Hays County Republican Party Welcome Center

By the call of the Chairman, the Hays County Republican Party Executive Committee met at 7:00 PM on Monday, March 27, 2023, at the Hays County Republican Party Welcome Center located at 6000 West FM 150, Kyle, Texas.

Welcome: Chairman Bob Parks called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

Invocation: The invocation was given by Brian McAuliffe.

<u>Pledge of Allegiance to the United States flag and the Texas flag:</u> The pledges were led by Larry Thompson.

<u>Recognition of Special Guests:</u> Judge Andrew Cable, Pat Chisholm, Steve Meyer, Cassandra Gould, representative for Carrie Isaac, and other public visitors.

<u>Secretary's Report and Approval of the Minutes:</u> Secretary Alicia Hamilton presented the minutes of the February 13, 2023, meeting for consideration and approval. Nancye Britner made a motion to accept the minutes and Mary Clarkson seconded. Motion passed. There were 27 precinct chairmen present, which constituted a quorum.

Adoption of the Agenda: Ryan Ellis made a motion to accept the agenda, seconded by Nancye Britner. Motion passed.

<u>**Treasurer's Report:**</u> Treasurer Mary Pat Paul delivered the Treasurer's Report (copy attached). Nancye Britner made a motion to accept the report, seconded by Terry Parker. Motion passed.

The bank balance as of March 27, 2023, was \$83,319.14.

Finance committee's Report:

Yearly subscription for Constant Contact is \$840.00 plus tax. Discussion by Chairman Bob Parks. Vote passed.

<u>Vice-Chairman's Report:</u> Selection Committee has nominated the following new candidates: Precinct 134 Carter Kupper; Precinct 141 Tennyson Moreno; Precinct 333 Gary Barchfeld; Precinct 423 Cordy Garza-Gongora. Brian McAuliffe made a motion to accept the new candidates, seconded by Jane Phillips. Motion passed. Judge Andrew Cable swears in new precinct chairs.

<u>Caring for America</u>: Mary Clarkson – Border Patrol agents in the North Border (U.S. and Canada) need letters of encouragement.

Chairman's Report:

- **Communication Committee:** Bob Parks appointed Ryan Ellis as Chairman. The committee will create an email list that will organize and consolidate events into a clear concise email. Ryan's recommendations for committee members: Pam Akin, David Hawkins, Tennyson Moreno, Mary Pat Paul, and Bob Parks. Anyone else interested needs to contact Ryan Ellis.
- Larry Thompson replaces Ryan Ellis on Finance Committee.
- Judge Tanner Neidhardt efficiency with civility. Emcee of Lincoln Reagan Dinner.
- Lincoln Reagan Dinner: Gary Barchfeld will be selling tickets and tables. Jane Philips asked about the budget for this event. In the past, we have alternated between Embassy Suites Hotel and TDS Ranch. We make every attempt to hold the event in Hays County. The only event space in Hays County capable of holding enough people is the hotel. We keep our costs as low as possible and have purchased reusable centerpieces. Hays County Republican Women pay \$1,000.00 to Hays County Republican Party to host the Silent Auction and kept the profit from event. Last year we planned for this year's event and the hotel verified the only date that was available is April 20, 2023. The hotel asked for a \$10,000.00 deposit in April 2022. The Executive Committee needed to approve this expenditure to put the deposit down. Due to the Republican Party of Texas rules, the incoming County Chairman and newly elected/re-elected precinct chairs were not able to meet until after the RPT State Convention and the HCRP Organizational Meeting. Due to these rules, Embassy Suites extended the down payment deposit until August 2022. The Finance Committee presented a motion to the Executive Committee on July 25, 2022, and was approved. There is a \$13 a plate price increase this year, which the price per plate would be \$43. A meeting is scheduled with hotel staff to negotiate a decrease in price. The speaker fee is \$32,500.

Adjourn: Julie Taylor made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Debi Christenson. The meeting was adjourned at 8:22 PM.